Town Council

Please scroll down for links to pages on Council Members, Council News, Meeting Dates, Minutes, Planning Applications, Council Regulations, Declarations of Interest and also for archived information (including Local Development Plan documents).



Full details and pictures of equipment in the Library now and until the end of April. Please take the time to pop in and vote. Details also on the Council news page and on our Facebook pages.






NOTE: NEXT  COUNCIL SURGERY      -     Next Surgery will be 5th May, 2018.

Cllrs. Baynham and Edwards to attend.


Town Council Surgeries

These are held on the first Saturday of each month (excluding January from 10am to 12pm in the Memorial Hall, Presteigne alongside the Farmers Market. No appointment necessary. Please call in to discuss any concerns you may have.



To download an application form to go on the waiting list click Allotments Application Form

Existing Tenants: To download an application form for a shed, water butt etc click Shed Application Form


Small Grants

The Town Council awards a small number of grants to local organisations such as Presteigne Colts, Presteigne and Norton Community Support. Grants are flexible and can be for one off items or to help towards general running costs. For full details see the Council grant awarding policy on the Council Regulations page (scroll down this page to see 'Council Regulations' and click on the heading to visit this page.) If you would like to discuss the possibility of a grant please contact the Clerk or speak to any Councillor.


The Town Council

The Town Council consists of thirteen members, nine representing the town of Presteigne and four covering the village of Norton. All members are chosen by ballot every four years, having been proposed and seconded by parishioners. To be eligible for election, a prospective member has to reside in the community or within three miles of the Parish boundary or own property in the parish.
Once elected, the councillors select their own Chairperson for the year (then known as the Mayor) and a deputy. The Mayor presides over all meetings of the Council, which meets once a month.

The Council employs a Town Clerk. The duties of the Clerk include -

ensuring that the council conducts its business lawfully

administering all the council's paperwork

ensuring that meeting papers are properly prepared and the public is aware of meeting times

implementing the council's decisions

overseeing the implementation of projects

keeping property registers and other legal documents

managing local facilities. In Presteigne and Norton this covers the recreation grounds Went's Meadow and Eddie's Meadow, town allotments and two blocks of public toilets.

Among the main concerns of the Town Council are local planning applications, which are forwarded by Powys County Council for any comments or objections. 

Financial responsibilities include paying our clerk, giving donations to help run local organisations, maintaining local amenity grounds belonging to the town and the running and upkeep of two toilet blocks which Powys CC intended to close.

A place on the Council is an interesting position, enabling local people to help care for their own area and environment.

Who are our Councillors?

Councillors for the Presteigne Ward are: Beverley Baynham, Colin Kirkby MBE, Pam Linnett, Rose Bamford, Rory Bennett, Trevor Owens, Fiona Preece (co-opted), Nicholas Rogers and Lisa Veary (co-opted). 

Councillors for the Norton Ward are: Simon Dixon (co-opted), Deb Edwards, Chris Ruby and John Wilding. 

Mayor for 2017/18 is John Wilding and Deputy Mayor is Colin Kirkby MBE (August 2017 onwards).

If you would like to know more about the Town Councillors please see the Council Members page below. On this page you will also find individual contact information should you wish to contact one specific Councillor.

Contact and Agendas

To contact the Town Council or any Councillor or to request an Agenda for a forthcoming meeting, please write to our clerk, Tracey Price, Garn Farm, Chapel Lawn, Bucknell, Shropshire, SY7 0BT, via email at, or telephone 01547 528575.



Details now to be found on the Archive page


Council Members

Council News

Council Minutes

Council Accounts and Audit

Council Meeting Dates

Planning Applications

Council Regulations

Declarations of Interest

Member Attendance and Allowances

Useful Links


Presteigne and Norton Town Council moderates this page, and all Town Council pages linked to it on this website. It is entirely responsible for all the information published on it and the linked Town Council Pages. Presteigne and Norton Community Trust Ltd take no responsibility for anything published on this page or any of the linked Town Council pages on this website.